Tastefuly Added On

Screenshot from Hello Kitty Hell

My first “real” string of words is just a lame “look-at-me” post.   It’s legitimate enough as it gives you a little insight into the type of gamer I am, and a post like that may as well be at the beginning of my blogging venture, but a small part of me felt I should give more.  I egotistically thought people would just think I have too big of an ego and dislike my lame all-about-me post, so I “legitimized” it a bit to bring you all into the fold.

  • Function over Form?
  • Form over Function?
  • Or a little of both?

Addons usually “add on” something to either enhance  gameplay or User Interface.

The funny thing about addons is that you’ll mostly find ones that add to function, and either don’t try to, or as a secondary concern, add to form.  As the addons pile up however, and need for them constantly pops up, they start to have a large impact over form.

After sufficiently being sucked into Runes of Magic, I quickly found I was an addon junky.  But I try to concentrate on a balance of form and function.  I’ve spent hours designing my User Interface around a minimalistic approach.  I’ve also taken great care so they don’t actually hinder my gameplay.  I’ve easily spent thirty or more minutes on readjusting target unitframes within a space of a millimeter.

My target and target-target unit frames look nice and they are spaced in such a way as to not have any overlapping buff icons, no matter how many buffs a mob or player would happen to have on.  Likewise my raid icons are spaced in a vertical order with party unit frames close enough to allow maximum screen visibility without having any overlap problems and allowing room if more members join either my party or another group in the raid.  In turn I have many addons that not only add unitframe info, but ones that simply give number info in the form of extending XP bar info, a threat meter, and more.  These are all placed in a way that’s quick and easy for me to locate as well as looking nice on screen.

Let it be said that I am not a Zurg player.  I play a lot, but I don’t quite fit the Zurg profile.  I like to slow down, and will gladly put more time in game, if needed.

How much affect a person’s playing style has on how they may design their UI, I don’t know.  I do know there are hardcore gamers who never use addons or change the default UI, and I know some that do.

For those that do use addons, whether its only a few, or many, what do you follow: form?, function?, or both?  What things make you decide where to put an aggro meter on your UI? Do you even care how your UI looks, as long as the job gets done? and is this better than worrying about how the UI looks?

Leave a Reply

