The Artistic Side of Things

It’s time to venture into some less aggressive waters.  So let’s leave RMT and any other gaming conflicts aside….for now.

For lack of a better word, I’m always tickled when I see artistic MMORPG related offerings from game communities.  WoW of course has everything from food inspired dishes to dolls and papercrafts.

I love seeing someone who made a neat looking Murloc tree ornament or someone who painted a scene from their favorite MMO in oil paints.

It always energizes me a bit.  That communal spirit rises up out of me wanting to join in the camaraderie of shared fandom.  It’s a very powerful feeling for me, and one I really wish would start to trickle into the Runes of Magic community.  There has been some great RoM fanart, and the game has a healthy base of addon programmers, so it may just take a bit more time and perhaps a bit more growth in numbers of players.

I think I’m going to devote some spare time toward hunting up a nice collection of MMORPG inspired “fanart”.

When I take screenshots in RoM, I tend to like scenic vistas.  I always try to fit in a nice view of a lake or entire town.  But looking at some recent screenshots on MMOvoices reminded me that there are some great opportunities to take capture very emotional scenes.

I’m sorry I didn’t have much of a point to this post.  But I did want to drop a line to readers and also to add a thank you to all the very creative players out there.  Keep up the great work!

If you know about any great sites showing different mediums of art(crafts, paper, paint, legos, costumes, screenshots, etc…) please let me know.

Leave a Reply

