Where Should the Best Loot Come From?

I don’t state this to try to add validity to an argument, just to let you know that I respect where the opinions are coming from.  I’d very much like to hear what others have to say.

Some of my friends, I used to play WoW with, I’ve known for a long time and have come to really respect their opinions on all sorts of subjects.  They are all very well educated, very well-rounded, and are intuitive as all get out.  So when we discussed where the best loot should come from in a game, and they agreed with me, it not only fed my lovely ego(which I do love, no matter how small it is), but I really focused my thought on the subject for a long time.

I’m of the belief that the best armor and weapon loot should come solely from crafting.  You can still have good crafting that people will partake in, as I would point to any existing crafting system as flawed yet obviously working.  But to have anything less than the best armor or weapons come from anywhere else undermines crafting and takes a way the one purely viable reason to have crafting in the first place.  Otherwise you don’t really have crafting, you just have the aucton house where people play online “economists”.

In the strictest sense, I would call all current crafting systems economy systems.  They solely feed into the economy.  That’s their highest and most valid priority.  Sure you are crafting “stuff” but what is the number one reason you are crafting it?  In WoW, you may find some alternative uses for crafting early on, but once you pass level thirty, the crafting system takes a nose dive off a thousand foot sheer cliff, and turns more into a money maker where most people stop after refining and don’t actually get to the crafting part.  They refine material to sell in the auction house.

There’s a place for this, but there’s also no tangible use for the fully crafted goods.  We call these crafting systems?

Are we undermining raids and battlegrounds, if we take away their gear drops?  I don’t think so.  It’s shifting responsiblities back into their proper places, and improving the game dramatically.  Can’t there be other uber drops in raids and battlegrounds?  I don’t see why not.

If players and/or developers feel that one area of the game ends up having to take priority over the other as far as where the best loot comes from, then I still see the logical conclusion that it should be crafting.  I personally don’t see it undermining raids or “end-game” content because there is plenty to achieve in doing raids, and players will still have a source to obtain the best gear to run more raids and gear up for battlegrounds.

I’m still a bit skeptical about the inner working of Alganon, that is now in beta.  But they mention this very aspect which made me smile knowing that others agreed with me.  We all love that.  But that’s not the only reason for me to push a subject like this.  I think it stands on it’s own two feet when it comes to what role different parts of a MMORPG should play.

5 Responses to “Where Should the Best Loot Come From?”

  1. I think that crafting should be one of many routes to obtain endgame gear that is roughly on par. Pre-MoM LoTRO hit that perfectly. The PvP gear, gear from 6 man content, crafted gear, and raid gear was all roughly on par. Modern LoTRO, not so much unfortunately.

    I totally agree that high end crafted gear should at least be on par with anything else you can get, though not necessarily that it should be superior to everything else. However, more generally I’m sick of MMOs that support a variety of play styles at low levels and gradually (or suddenly at the cap) restrict you to one or two viable activities to gear up.

  2. Otherwise you don’t really have crafting, you just have the aucton house where people play online “economists”.

    Selling items on the market is still a form of gameplay, even if this isn’t what you’re interested in. Personally, I find the market to be one of the more interesting aspects of crafting. Knowing what items to sell is neat; probably because I’ve done a lot of business stuff in the offline world, too.

    They refine material to sell in the auction house.

    Who are they selling the refined materials to? Most of the time it’s for crafters. So, this is still a healthy function of the economy: having people who add value in a processing step along the way.

    One problem with crafting giving the good gear is that it then encourages more people to get into crafting. If you’re interested in the economic aspects (the market), then that can frustrate you since everyone’s dumping items on the AH just to get to the stuff they want to make. (Part of this could be alleviated by not making is so you have to grind a bunch of useless stuff to make the better stuff, of course.) More competitors isn’t good for people looking for profit in a market.

    What about gear that requires multiple paths? For example, from TBC (didn’t play enough WotLK to find out the updated item) you had “Hearts of Darkness” that was used to craft some high end items, but you could only get the Hearts from high-end raids. It essentially took crafting and raiding to make these items. Is that good, in you opinion?

    • howtoloseyourlifetoanmmorpg Says:

      Oh I agree and I enjoy it. I enjoy many aspects that MMORPGs offer. I like gathering at times just to sell. It depends on time and place for me. Overall my favorite thing is crafting, but you can catch me doing many things in an MMOPG.

      Yes, the economy is important.

      I know it sounds weird right. If all these people are selling refined material, the “buyers” must be crafters, right? Crafting still works the way it is, obviously by looking at the MMORPGs, But I say it doesn’t work to the systems advantages.

      The funny thing about this is that Raiding is all about grinding the instances. They do it now, it’s like the natural cycle of life for them, so why does reducing the items they get to another great item or replace the best gear to the crafting system upset this?

      I think WoW ruined their craft system with Burning Crusade. In short, Before BC, the craft system functioned mainly how I’m arguing craft systems should change.

      Awesome comment, thank you.

      I’m not a developer or longtime player so I may be wrong or misinformed. I was told by someone that a problem arouse in EQ2 When they took gear out of raids and left it solely in the hands of crafters. It made the raiders into “hardcore crafters”. In a sense, then when we think about players who are “raiders” they really are going for that intense high or adrenaline rush, so maybe these players should be “adrenaline junkies” 🙂 I dunno. But anyway. I was told that the raiders basically power leveled their crafting and then ruined the economy by inflating on purpose.

      I’m not knowledgeable enough to know the inner workings of this, but This is from a long time player or UO, and EQ2.

  3. MrIllusion Says:

    HI think that answers for this question tend to be skewed, depending on the player’s preferred mode of obtaining equipment. If I were to look at this issue from a game developer’s perspective (of which I am not),however, I think a more important factor is whether or not additional content like crafting or new instances actually give the players a better experience, or cause them to be conflicted by it.

    For example, if crafting allows players to obtain the best items in the game, there would be little incentive for most players to grind new instances. This actually reduces in-game content. The same is true of the converse, where players ignore new crafting recipes, choosing to grind old instances because the rewards are better.

    Personally I would prefer if there was a way to combine both approaches. Say players can obtain Grade C (just an example) via crafting and questing, but in order to get Grade B equipment, they need to have an organised group for raids and instances. In order, to get Grade A equipment they not only need a crafter to build the basic materails, but also rare drops from instances.

    This way everyone benefits, the crafter saves money to buy the rare drop
    and forges it himself. The raider grinds instances to get the rare drop and
    pays the crafter to forge the item.

    Regarding the previous comment about players dumping useless items on AH or simply venodring the items at a loss, Aion Online’s approach is quite refreshing. For those who haven’t played, Aion’s crafting is such that
    apart from making items from recipes, you can also choose to forge misc
    items for NPCs. The NPC will give you part of the mats required for the
    items, while you purchase the remainder. The completed items will then be given back to the NPC for a small reward.

    The beauty of this approach is that players can avoid making 26841626 belt buckles so that they can raise their skill enough to make ONE Uber Belt of Leetness.

  4. anyway ,nice comment ,and i love your blog ,i will back again ,i promise – -:buyffxivgil

Leave a Reply

